Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea


Another wonderful subject.  I have always been fascinated by the sea – probably because of the never ending change that it represents.  Every wave, every ripple adds a new effect – both visually and dynamically.  The other aspect of the sea is its power – something we see and feel in every wave that breaks or every current we encounter or even every storm we weather while on the water.  Lastly, as a scuba diver I marvel at the life giving abundance of the sea – fueling an entirely different world than most of us routinely experience.  I should mention one more thing since this is a photographic challenge – what would the golden hour be without the sea, in all its forms, to highlight it…….??

The "golden hour" seaside in nearby Ocean Beach California

The “golden hour” seaside in nearby Ocean Beach California

20 responses

  1. Wow. This is a breathtaking photo. The scenery and the lighting is spectacular. Thanks for sharing all your beautiful shots, they’re always such a pleasure to see!

    August 30, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    • Thanks Dounia – I’m very lucky to live near such sights – yet it is amazing that I don’t get down there as often as I should. I really appreciate your comments – it makes me very happy to see others enjoy my photos.

      August 30, 2013 at 12:51 pm

  2. Great photo. .. I can feel the sun! Nice work mate 🙂

    August 30, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    • Hari – thank you – you’re living in one of my favorite cities. Planning another short stay over there in December

      August 30, 2013 at 4:36 pm

  3. Awesome shot Scott. Perfect shutter speed to capture the power of the waves too.

    August 30, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    • Thanks Jeff – I kinda prefer your smooth water long shutter shots but these have a place also!

      September 2, 2013 at 10:09 am

      • I’m with you there Scott. Sometimes though, my preferred method doesn’t capture the scene the way it should.

        September 2, 2013 at 5:02 pm

  4. Oh wow, this is one of my favourites so far. Very powerful and so professionally done.

    August 30, 2013 at 11:51 pm

    • Thanks Myra – I don’t know about the professionally done part but it was a beautiful evening!

      September 2, 2013 at 10:08 am

  5. awesome!!!

    August 31, 2013 at 12:07 am

    • STML – thank you – I always love it when a fellow photographer appreciates a shot.

      September 2, 2013 at 10:07 am

  6. Stunning photo.

    August 31, 2013 at 6:06 am

    • Thanks Colline – I definitely need to spend more time where this was taken – always wonderful in the evening

      September 2, 2013 at 10:05 am

  7. Great shot!

    August 31, 2013 at 8:14 am

    • Thanks Livvy – its been too long since I’ve been in your beautiful part of the world!

      September 2, 2013 at 10:04 am

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Sea | Endless Skys

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Sea | Endless Skys

  10. Remarkable!! 🙂

    September 2, 2013 at 11:25 am

    • Thanks Madelaine – i’m always awed by the sea.

      September 5, 2013 at 1:18 pm

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Sea – Endless Skys

Leave a Reply

