Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV


Once again this challenge relates to some of my recent posts – of Puffins in Alaska.  I have to admit this photo is not only an unusual POV – it is actually a mistake!  I was trying to get a sea-level view of a tufted puffin take off run where they skip across the water before flying.  Everything went fine except that with the boat rocking and the inaccuracies of the photographer (me), the focus point ended up being on one of the “hop” splashes instead of the bird.  On the positive side, as soon as I downloaded this photo, I really like the effect of the focused splash with the bird ghosted going away from the camera.  Since this Challenge is part of the ongoing Photography 101 series, the other camera settings that contribute to this shot were a fast shutter speed to freeze the action (1/1000 sec) and a relatively wide aperture for a narrow depth of field (f 5.6).  I hope you enjoy my mistake!

Almost.....

Almost…..

5 responses

  1. Great time Scott !
    Wonderful shot !
    Ciao ciao
    Max

    September 6, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    • Thank you Max! Nice to hear from you again – I’m glad you liked it!

      September 7, 2013 at 7:46 am

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV, #1: The Road Left Behind | Rob's Surf Report

  3. What was your ISO on this image? Sometimes the neatest images are the ones totally unplanned.

    September 7, 2013 at 4:00 am

    • Rebecca – The ISO was 200 for that shot. Yep – sometimes its a great surprise to see what I’ve taken that I didn’t know about.

      September 7, 2013 at 7:48 am

Leave a Reply

