Sharing moments in time…

Playing Peek a Boo with a Moose


The first day we arrived in Homer, Alaska my wife and I went for a short hike in a nearby park to see if we could find a moose in the swampland.  After about an hour, I heard some branches crackle to my right and turned to get this view of a Moose.  I quickly scanned the area to see if there were any calves around but I didn’t see any.  I called to my wife who was behind me on the trail and told her she was about to get a visitor.  A few seconds later the moose calmly walked by her and proceeded toward the swamp.  It was a nice way to begin the wildlife part of our trip and it turned out to one of only a few moose that we saw during our trip.  It was an unexpectedly close encounter in a densely wooded area but one that stayed calm and quiet as we all went our own way…..

Not sure who was more surprised....

Not sure who was more surprised….

4 responses

  1. lisalday111711

    This is just a gem of a shot!! What a beautiful creature!! Thank you for sharing
    Lisa

    September 26, 2013 at 8:26 am

    • My pleasure Lisa – glad you liked it!

      October 3, 2013 at 8:34 am

  2. It’s great how you can see the fur on/in the ears in this shot.
    Full disclosure: I think mooses are super-cute to start with!

    September 28, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    • Delft – Thanks! We love to see moose when we go to Alaska – sorry we didn’t find more this year… 😦

      October 3, 2013 at 8:29 am

Leave a Reply

