Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinite


When I think of “infinite” I think of unimaginably big to the extent that it is not understandable in the normal way.  That is probably why I am always drawn to nature and to nature and wildlife photography.  The vastness of all things nature is indeed infinite and it is impossible (at least to me) to understand how it all actually works together to form our “world” of experience.  I know that is not a very good definition or discussion but maybe I can explain it in my photo and what it represents to me.  I took this photo from the back of a 4 wheel drive vehicle moving RAPIDLY across the rocky and very hilly landscape of Bandhavgarh National Park in India.  It was our last game drive there and we had yet to see a Tiger so the driver was “motivated” to get us across the park to where there was a sighting.  I was sitting over the rear axle so there were many times (including when I took this photo) that I was actually off the seat and flying – only staying in the jeep by my death grip on the roll bar with my free hand while trying to take a photo of this unimaginably great vista with my other hand.  The combination of being in exotic India, actually looking for a Tiger (!), the excitement of the more than slightly dangerous drive, and one of the best sunrises  EVER – always makes me think of the infinite (there’s that word again) number of variables that had to come together perfectly to form that moment.  I marvel at that every time I look at this photo and still can’t believe it.  Sorry for the long explanation – here is my photo….

Infinite Amazement

Infinite Amazement

12 responses

  1. Stunning!!!

    October 11, 2013 at 1:34 pm

    • Thanks Madhu! It was an incredible sight – even at about 50 mph!

      October 13, 2013 at 8:30 am

  2. Howard Schwartz

    stunningly beautiful. hope you had an amazing trip.

    October 11, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    • Howard,
      India is absolutely incredible in so many ways – we highly recommend it to everyone. We balanced the cities and cultural areas with wildlife areas – that really worked out well for us.

      October 13, 2013 at 8:32 am

  3. Wow, that’s a spectacular photo. It’s truly breathtaking and captures the infinite beauty of nature.

    October 11, 2013 at 3:21 pm

    • Thanks Dounia – the sunrise, the clouds, the terrain, and the excitment of moment made it even more incredible.

      October 13, 2013 at 8:33 am

  4. absolutely gorgeous!

    October 11, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    • It definitely was Juls! And then we found a Tiger – quite a morning!

      October 13, 2013 at 8:35 am

  5. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge : Infinite | jansideas

  6. This is a very stunning image, great work!

    February 13, 2014 at 6:01 pm

    • ELP – Thank you – it was an incredible sight and experience. I’m glad the photo caught at least part of it!

      February 14, 2014 at 10:06 am

Leave a Reply

