Sharing moments in time…

Spirit Bear


Spirit Bear

Spirit Bear

Its time for another Photoshop experiment.  I am still enjoying exploring what you can do with this program without spending alot of time in trying to come up with perfect versions of my experiments.  I thought it would be fun to combine a couple of shots of the same animal into a single photo.  I took one of my close up views of a beautiful brown bear from Alaska this summer and used one of the creative filters to make it look like an oil painting to give it kind of surreal look.  I turned it into a sepia toned  portrait and added a vignette around the subject to fade out the details around the edges.  I then superimposed an action photo of the same bear into the corner and masked out the extraneous details.  While it is by no means perfect, I like the overall effect of the result.  Hope you enjoy also…….

13 responses

  1. Well done!

    October 31, 2013 at 5:56 am

    • Walktx – you probably haven’t encountered any of those during your volksmarches……

      November 1, 2013 at 12:56 pm

      • When we Volksmarched in Alaska at the Eagle River Nature Center I was afraid I was going to meet one! All we saw was a Moose though and it was laying down.

        November 1, 2013 at 12:59 pm

  2. Very artistic!

    October 31, 2013 at 10:33 am

    • Hi Cathy – it was fun to play with – I should probably post the two original photos that I used to get to this….

      November 1, 2013 at 12:54 pm

  3. Terri smith

    Looks really cool. Like this one!

    November 1, 2013 at 3:59 am

    • Thanks Terri! Experiments sometimes work….

      November 1, 2013 at 12:52 pm

  4. Absolutely lovely.
    Did you do the sketch of the bear, or were you able to do that in the program?

    November 1, 2013 at 7:26 pm

    • Hi Jackie – The “sketch” is actually a photo that I first put into an oil painting filter in photoshop, then turned it into a B&W and then used a vignette to fade out the details and make it look like a drawing – amazing what you can do with the right software. I will post the original photos that I started from.

      November 2, 2013 at 10:07 am

  5. autisticaplanet

    This is truly awesome! Capturing the moment as it really is is one part of photography and how your mind’s eye interprets it is another. There is plenty of room for purists and creative photographers. I am currently experimenting/learning Photoshop Elements 11.

    November 3, 2013 at 10:46 pm

    • Thanks Allison! I’m really glad you like it. I still mostly prefer my realistic photography but I’m enjoying learning and experimenting with Photoshop. I met a professional wild horse photographer last year who convinced me that Photoshop is an essential tool in doing some of the more artistic approaches to photography.

      November 4, 2013 at 12:05 pm

  6. Wow this is amazing…Love it! 🙂

    November 11, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    • Thanks Amanda – It was a fun experiment

      November 12, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Leave a Reply

