Sharing moments in time…

“the watchman” – an American Kestrel


I’ve been trying to get a decent photo of an American Kestrel for over a year.  They are kind of skittish and have eluded me in New Mexico, Yellowstone and across much of the Southwest.  Last week while at the dog beach (when I took the photos for my last two posts), I unexpectedly found one sitting on a sign post – obviously trying to enforce the instructions on the sign.  I managed to take this shot of him standing his watch and keeping the beach safe from all intruders……

"None shall pass!"

“None shall pass!”

 

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Young American kestrels survive bear attack | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  2. Beautiful pic! (not to be a troll or negative in any way, but it’s actually a female)

    March 27, 2017 at 7:38 am

    • Cleland – I appreciate your help in identifying this correctly. I love the bird but am not enough of a birder to get the details right….

      March 27, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Leave a Reply

