Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Unexpected (2)


In my previous post for this challenge I mentioned that I like wildlife photography because it is always unexpected and unplanned.  I thought I’d post this photo of an endangered Channel Island Fox to illustrate that fact.  We had been on Santa Rosa Island for 3 days and I had been out every morning and evening with hopes of getting a photo of these illusive animals.  As we were waiting for our boat to arrive to go back to the mainland, my wife and I were sitting by a small tidal pool watching some birds play in the water.  As we were chatting, I saw movement over her shoulder and I saw a small face (the foxes are about the size of a house cat).  I told Dee to freeze for a second so I could get a shot of this totally unexpected visitor – this was that first photo.  Once again, I relearned that when out in the wild always expect the unexpected…..

Better late than never....

Better late than never….

16 responses

  1. Great photo and very cute fox! I love all of your photography, Scott, but my favorites are definitely your wildlife photos. I love seeing your beautiful photos from all the amazing places you visit! Until I get a chance to see them myself (I hope!), at least I can experience them through your blog 🙂 Thank you very much for that, and I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    November 22, 2013 at 11:34 am

  2. Pingback: Unexpected (Weekly Photo Challenge) | Icezine

  3. Just another reason to keep the camera on you at all times! I’m glad you captured what you waited so patiently for. Congrats 🙂
    Anna

    November 22, 2013 at 1:35 pm

    • Thanks Anna – it was great just to see one – the photos were the icing on the cake!

      November 24, 2013 at 2:48 pm

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unexpected | A Mixed Bag

  5. Great catch, Scott. I spotted a couple of foxes crossing a field in Pennsylvania once while driving. We weren’t close and I couldn’t stop for a photo, but it was really cool.

    janet

    November 22, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    • Thanks Janet – this has been a great fox year for me – Yellowstone with a whole family of them and then this rare endangered encounter! Prior to this year, I had only seen a few of them in the wild!

      November 24, 2013 at 2:50 pm

      • We were in Yellowstone in August and saw more buffalo/bison that we’ve ever seen there. (If you’d like a peek, here’s a link to one of my vacation posts: http://sustainabilitea.wordpress.com/2013/08/16/hot-and-steamy/.) We didn’t see any fox, but we did even catch sight of a bald eagle which was, unfortunately, quite a distance away. What an incredible place Yellowstone it!

        November 24, 2013 at 3:12 pm

      • Janet – I think you’re right – there seemed to be more bison this year – it looks like you had some nice up-close encounters with them. We were lucky to be there when we discovered a nice fox den with two kits. Unfortunately, they were killed shortly after we were there by a badger that got into their den while the parents were away….

        November 24, 2013 at 3:21 pm

      • Badgers are terrible fierce!

        November 24, 2013 at 3:32 pm

      • Janet – Indeed they are – and there are a lot of them in Yellowstone

        November 24, 2013 at 8:27 pm

      • Terribly fierce

        Sigh.

        November 24, 2013 at 8:36 pm

  6. So cool, I would love to see a fox close up. 🙂

    November 23, 2013 at 12:47 am

    • Amanda – they are tremendously cute – I’ve been very lucky to see several this year close enough to photograph – including this rare one!

      November 24, 2013 at 2:54 pm

  7. Steve Deutsch

    good one.

    November 23, 2013 at 4:25 pm

    • Thanks Steve! You guys should go visit the foxes out there – its relatively close and a nice trip!

      November 24, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Leave a Reply

