Sharing moments in time…

Another reason (for me) to give thanks….


I just had yet another reason to give thanks for all of our blessings this year.  A non-profit environmental organization in Queensland Australia sent me a note asking for permission to use one of my photos (posted on my Flickr site http://www.flickr.com/photos/67528995@N08/) in a proposal to “promote restoration of  degraded habitat for iconic species such as the Jabiru”.   They offered to pay me for the use of the photo but I told them it is not necessary – I am absolutely thrilled that one of my photos will be used for such a noble cause.  I have always hoped that in some very small way my photography and this blog might contribute to the preservation of wildlife and the appreciation of the vast diversity of the natural world.  I am extremely grateful that my photo will be put to that use.

Here is the photo that they requested to use – I hadn’t yet used it for one of my posts.  I didn’t even know that this bird was known as a Jabiru as they are called Black Necked Storks in India where the photo was taken.  Our guide in India told us this was the first time he had ever seen one of these distinctive storks actually flying away with a snake as  its next meal.  Hope you enjoy – and Happy Thanksgiving!!

Mobile Meal

Mobile Meal

14 responses

  1. That is a phenomenal capture! Absolutely stunning!

    November 28, 2013 at 5:25 am

    • Thanks Thomas – It was an unexpected sighting and opportunity to catch an unusual shot.

      November 29, 2013 at 1:21 pm

  2. Congratulations! What a terrific thing to be able to contribute to the preservation of wildlife. Your photography brings that world closer to all of us. Happy Thanksgiving!

    November 28, 2013 at 6:46 am

    • Jackie – Thank you so much. I’m pretty stoked that its being used for a great purpose but even more thankful that people like you are enjoying the wild through my lens…. 🙂

      November 29, 2013 at 1:23 pm

  3. Kudos to you, and great work.

    November 28, 2013 at 8:00 am

    • Thanks James – Nice to be noticed – especially in something you do for fun!

      November 30, 2013 at 10:48 am

  4. Howard Schwartz

    Scott: Wow.  Truly a great story & photo.   Yes, a lot to be thankful for.  Have a wonderful trip to Africa.  Happy Holidays. Again, thanks for your outstanding images. Howard

    November 28, 2013 at 8:23 am

    • Hi Howard. Nice to be recognized by a conservation group. We are really looking forward to a great time with M&K in Africa. Hope you had a great turkey day. Should have some good stuff to share in the new year!!

      November 30, 2013 at 10:45 am

  5. Steve Deutsch

    beautiful

    November 28, 2013 at 10:14 am

    • Thanks Steve – That area had many species of large birds we don’t see around here – fun!

      November 30, 2013 at 10:44 am

  6. Magnificent photo – I understand that you are thankful and proud that it will be used for this good cause!

    November 29, 2013 at 10:54 am

    • Thanks AnnChristine – It made my day!

      November 30, 2013 at 7:24 am

    • autisticaplanet

      Leya said it well. I echo her comment.

      December 4, 2013 at 2:18 am

Leave a Reply

