Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Community


When most people go scuba diving, they focus on big things of interest – turtles, sharks, rays, etc…..  One of the things that I love to do is to just find a nice little patch of coral and quietly observe the local community at work.  You can see families, predators, cleaning stations, and all kinds of other everyday behavior – all in an environment that is as foreign to us humans as aliens from far off galaxies.  For todays challenge I thought I’d show a snapshot of one of those communities in Fiji – nothing unusual or exotic – just a community going about its “business”.

Think they're headed to the mall?

Think they’re headed to the mall?

15 responses

  1. “Just a…” but a very beautiful one!

    December 13, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    • AnnChristine – exactly right. I find all of the various undersea communities both beautiful and fascinating. I could really just sit there and spend my entire “bottom time” on one coral head – but then there are so many more to see….just posting this makes me want to go dive!!

      December 13, 2013 at 1:49 pm

  2. raymond kelso

    Scott
    Please dive sober!
    R

    December 13, 2013 at 4:41 pm

  3. kz

    maybe to school ^^ lovely photo

    December 13, 2013 at 7:14 pm

  4. I love exotic fish. It just amazes how how there can be so many different types of fish, colors and shapes of all kinds. If I were going to have caged fish, I’d want a tank as big as my living room. Of course, I’d need a much huger house. And as long as I’m dreaming, I’d want a few hundred million dollars—not being greedy. Greedy would be a few hundred billion dollars. LOL

    Here is my entry for this week’s challenge: Community (and Sub-communities)
    http://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/2013/12/13/weekly-photo-challenge-community-and-sub-community/ 🙂

    December 13, 2013 at 10:54 pm

    • Thanks Cris – let me know when you get those millions….I may need a loan 🙂

      December 21, 2013 at 11:08 am

      • Hang tight. But don’t hold your breath. Yet, there is always hope, as hope springs eternal, or so I’ve been told. Actually, I could use a little Spring here in NW MO, as it is currently dropping down ice from the sky. I expect my front door, which faces north, will be frozen shut for the second time in the past 30 days. You gotta love winter, right? NOT!!!

        December 21, 2013 at 2:39 pm

      • Cris – my heart goes out to you – I don’t miss real winters at all! We are “suffering” through a 61 degree mostly sunny afternoon…..

        December 21, 2013 at 2:58 pm

      • All I ask is that you suffer in silence. 🙂

        December 21, 2013 at 3:00 pm

      • ……….

        December 26, 2013 at 5:25 pm

      • 🙂

        December 30, 2013 at 10:52 am

  5. Such a beautiful community of fish.

    December 14, 2013 at 6:39 am

    • Hi Colline – they are just incredibly fascinating!

      December 21, 2013 at 11:09 am

Leave a Reply

