Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Streetlife


While I sometimes take “street photos” around home, I am much more likely to focus on the street life while away from home.  Here are a few from various places we’ve been in the past few years…..

Rainy Rapallo Italy

Rainy Rapallo Italy

This first one is during a downpour in the little town of Rapallo, Italy – we shared this small tunnel for a few moments trying to keep out of the deluge…..

What is the drinking age in France?

What is the drinking age in France?

This next one is from Nice, France.  She caught my eye as I thought she might be a little underage…..  Her father came back to the table a little later and I felt better about her future!

Colorful Street

Colorful Street

I captured this image while we going down a highway outside of Delhi, India.  The man’s pensive look caught my eye first but I also wanted to catch the colorful adornments of the trucks passing by…….

Katmandu cutie

Katmandu cutie

This young lady was just relaxing next to her bike on a sunny afternoon in Katmandu.  I thought the scene captured the native dress, and a little of the local flavor with the hindu shrine next to her…..

Isn't a waterway a street...of sorts?

Isn’t a waterway a street…of sorts?

This last colorful scene is from the floating islands of Lake Titicaca where the Uros people live.  It was a still morning with tranquil people in a very beautiful place.

22 responses

  1. I like all these choices very much. You really captured some interesting people and I love the first shot.

    janet

    March 28, 2014 at 11:16 am

    • Thanks Janet – I just chose some random ones from different locations – I always find them fascinating to revisit…..

      March 28, 2014 at 11:26 am

  2. fabulous images…especially the one in Katmandu…the reflection adds such dimension to it Scott

    March 28, 2014 at 11:47 am

    • Thanks Jo – I really enjoy taking candid photos of people and places around the world.

      March 29, 2014 at 9:24 am

  3. Reblogged this on hocuspocus13.

    March 28, 2014 at 11:50 am

  4. Reblogged this on SherayxWeblog.

    March 28, 2014 at 12:03 pm

  5. Beautiful pics! The young girl from France looks so mature, not because of the beer, but the way she’s sitting, cross legged, her clothes!

    March 28, 2014 at 12:59 pm

    • Anna – I think you’re right -it all adds to the illusion and makes the scene interesting!

      March 29, 2014 at 9:26 am

  6. Good shots, Scott. I like the Katmandu cutie very much!

    March 29, 2014 at 6:32 am

    • Thanks Stefano! It was pretty bright late morning sunlight so I had to play with the image a little.

      March 29, 2014 at 9:29 am

  7. Like the effect of the first photograph. I would want to walk down that street as well.

    March 29, 2014 at 8:42 am

    • Thanks Colline – its hard to tell but it was really quite a downpour. But the shadows, the umbrella, and light outside the tunnel made it a nice scene (I think).

      March 29, 2014 at 9:45 am

      • I agree.

        March 29, 2014 at 4:44 pm

  8. Very nice collection of street life.

    March 29, 2014 at 1:36 pm

  9. Excellent photos Scott!

    March 30, 2014 at 7:56 am

    • Thanks Jeff – not sure I have any of empty streets like yours – I only get up that early when I’m in the wild (or heading to a golf course…)

      April 4, 2014 at 11:17 am

      • LOL, I’ll get up that early for anything I’m interested in photographing!

        April 8, 2014 at 7:21 pm

  10. Wonderful shots !
    When I’ve seen the first, I thought that it was familiar… 😀

    Ciao ciao
    Max

    March 31, 2014 at 6:12 am

    • Hi Max – I included that one just for you!
      Ciao

      April 4, 2014 at 11:18 am

      • Oohh.. Thank you very much !!!
        Grazie Mille !

        Max

        April 6, 2014 at 11:45 am

      • my pleasure Max 😉

        April 11, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Leave a Reply

