Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Spring


I’ll take the easy way out this week and say that the spring, especially this year, is marked by the beginning of hiking and camping season.  We just completed our  trip to Canyonlands and Arches National Parks in Utah and later this month we will hike the Grand Canyon and then go to Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks.  While in the Canyonlands area I had to “bag” my version of what is now an iconic photo of the region at the Mesa Arch.  Every morning photographers gather to try and capture a view looking under the arch at the first glimpse of direct sunlight coming up over the distant mountains.  The goal is to catch the sunrise as well as the red/orange glow on the underside of the sandstone arch as the first light hits it.  As I said, this has become a favorite shot for photographers so I got up plenty early (5am) to beat the crowd and get my spot under the arch.  Unfortunately, when I got to the arch (still 45 minutes prior to sunrise), there were 20-30 photographers from a single photography tour occupying the full length of the arch!  Most of them were not amenable to sharing their spots but I found a nice gent who allowed me to shoot under his shot and get a small window to the scene – not ideal but better than nothing.  To complicate matters, the sun rising over the mountains was partially obscured by clouds so the first rays were not crisp – but it did light up the clouds for a nice scene.  Here is my version of this now famous and popular photo.  Happy Spring everyone! https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/spring-2/

Sunrise under the Mesa Arch

Sunrise under the Mesa Arch

18 responses

  1. Great shot! I am thiking I will have to go there some day and take a similar photo, even if it means getting up at 5 AM, or earlier. 🙂

    May 2, 2014 at 9:43 am

    • Neihtn – If you liked the red rock country, you will love this area! I’m sure the arch isn’t that crowded everyday but it surprised me! In any case, I still got some good shots there and elsewhere.

      PS – I was a Jersey boy too – a long time ago….

      May 4, 2014 at 2:28 pm

  2. Anna

    Speechless…

    May 2, 2014 at 10:41 am

    • Thanks Anna. That part of the country is often breathtaking…

      May 4, 2014 at 2:29 pm

  3. Great pic! Glad there was a thoughtful guy there. I dream of seeing this in real life. It’s such an immense and ancient landscape. Beautiful 🙂

    May 2, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    • Anna – It was nice to find a courteous photog! I highly recommend a trip there. This was our second time and we enjoyed it immensely.

      May 4, 2014 at 2:31 pm

  4. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: Spring | The (Urban-Wildlife) Interface

  5. Excellent capture!!

    May 2, 2014 at 6:27 pm

    • Thanks Rick – I think nature did all the hard work!

      May 4, 2014 at 2:31 pm

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Spring | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  7. I’ve not words !
    Great shot Scott !
    You remind me every moment of my wonderful trip there…
    Thank you very much !
    Ciao ciao
    Max

    May 3, 2014 at 4:55 am

    • Max! Glad I could bring back some memories – still have some other good photos to share.

      May 4, 2014 at 2:32 pm

  8. Very impressive.

    May 3, 2014 at 11:50 am

    • Nina – the entire area around Moab, Utah is incredibly beautiful.

      May 4, 2014 at 2:35 pm

  9. Love it and happy journeying. I’ve been to all those places you mention and am also making my first trip to Sante Fe soon. I love the desert.

    May 6, 2014 at 9:33 am

    • Thanks Jeri – We lived in Albuquerque for quite a while so we know Santa Fe well – I think you’ll really enjoy it.

      May 6, 2014 at 1:23 pm

  10. It’s a beautiful shot! I haven’t been there but did Zion and Bryce two years ago – fantastic. I highly recommend “Photographing the Southwest” by Laurent Martres. Great guide to the parks, the best places to shoot and where to go to avoid the crowds. It became my bible!

    May 6, 2014 at 8:28 pm

    • Thanks Tina! I’ve been to Zion but its been a couple of years – this will be our first time at Bryce. It will also be our first hike in the Grand Canyon. Thanks for the book recommendation – I actually got it for my iPad before we left for Canyonlands. It led us to a little known but beautiful hike to the “False Kiva” which you’ll see on my blog soon….. 🙂

      May 7, 2014 at 8:51 am

Leave a Reply

