Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: On the Move


When I was at the beach the other day, I was surrounded by what seemed like hundreds of these little shorebirds (Plovers?).  I set my camera to a relatively long shutter speed to try and capture their motion as they all ran by me  as a group.  The effect of the birds, their reflection in the surf, and the motion led to an interesting abstract of the birds – “on the move”.https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/on-the-move/

Beach Birds in Motion.....

Beach Birds in Motion…..

 

12 responses

  1. Individuality melting into one!

    May 9, 2014 at 10:23 am

    • You got it right Mary – there were lots of them but they all seemed to move as an individual entity!

      May 12, 2014 at 3:19 pm

  2. Anna

    Wow, super!!!

    May 9, 2014 at 11:52 am

    • Thanks Anna – I was surprised how well the photo turned out – as an abstract!

      May 12, 2014 at 3:18 pm

  3. Pingback: On the Move – The Daily Post | Elämän katupeili

  4. Wow, great capture, it looks like kind of “birds estampede”; weird!

    May 9, 2014 at 6:48 pm

    • Thanks Jaime – I looked like that through my lens also!

      May 12, 2014 at 3:18 pm

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: On the Move | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: On The Move | Photography From North Wales

  7. Pingback: Birds at Sunset at Cape May | I see beauty all around by rob paine

  8. Carole Widick

    Scott, we met you a couple of years ago at Bosque del Apache when we stayed at the same b&b. Have followed you since and really enjoy your pictures, especially the creative construction. We were in Canyonlands recently and then saw your great picture from the “kiva”; we’ll aim to take that hike next time we’re there…can you give us a reference to a map or a starting point. Thanks for sharing your vision.

    May 13, 2014 at 8:03 am

    • Hi Carole,
      I’m thrilled that you are still following my photos after all this time! It is definitely a very nice hike – I didn’t take photos on the trail but I should have – it was very scenic. The reason I didn’t take photos was that I had a walking stick in one hand and my iPad mini in the other – the directions in the “photographing the southwest” book are very detailed and we relied on them to get us to the right place – it is actually a very handy guide if you’re interested. That being said, the (unmarked) trailhead is on the road to upheaval dome. You park along the road by the trailhead to Alcove Spring – then walk back about 250 yards (toward rt 313) and look to the right for a footpath leading west. Its kinda hard to distinguish the path from some of the normal “washes” but if you go down the path for a short while you should start to see “ducks” (trail markers)along the way. Its possible to get a little off the path as you go down the valley and across the face of the mesa but there are lots of markers there if you look for them. As I said, the book gives very good directions if you care to pick that up. Good luck and let me know if I can be of any further help! Enjoy the hike and let me know how you liked it!

      May 13, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Leave a Reply

