Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Split Second Story


I chose this photo because it is related to one of the under-covered world news stories of the past few weeks – the India elections.   As you may have heard, over 500 million people voted in the election which turned into a referendum on the “modernization” of India.  When we were there a little over a year ago we had the opportunity to visit a very rural school and sit in on one of the classes.  We were amazed at the interest, discipline, and capabilities of the young Indian students.  I think this photo captures one of the primary aspects of the Indian move to a higher standing in the world order – education of the hundreds of millions of young people in the country to allow them to strive for a better life.  My split second story is one of hope for all those children.http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/split-second-story/

A story of India

A story of India

13 responses

  1. Wonderful capture, definitely tells a powerful story. Nicely done.

    May 30, 2014 at 12:07 pm

    • Thanks Tina – I appreciate it. The Indian government is pretty messed up in a lot of ways but they are pursuing education strongly even in the remote areas.

      May 30, 2014 at 5:09 pm

  2. Wow, stunning and powerful photo. I love it!

    May 30, 2014 at 6:33 pm

    • W&R – Thanks! We really enjoyed meeting and talking to some of the kids.

      May 31, 2014 at 11:43 am

  3. Pingback: WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: Split-Second Story | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  4. interesting picture, she has a dream,

    June 1, 2014 at 10:06 am

    • Robert – She sure does…we got to talk to many of the students about their various dreams – very encouraging and uplifting conversation

      June 1, 2014 at 11:40 am

  5. Mike

    Hi Scott, long time no see. While I miss seeing you in person, I hope it will bring you joy to know that it brightens my day when I get to see the world through your eyes.

    I see a degree of irony in this shot – a girl in a country that is working hard to improve and the span of American influence ( note the “Hannah Montana” logo on the girl’s bag). Its my opinion that Miley’s current works could set an educational system back…

    June 2, 2014 at 7:10 am

    • Hi Mike – great to hear from you! Still at BAH? I’m very happy that I can help add a little to your day through my photos – I certainly enjoy doing it.

      As for the girl in the photo – you are entirely right. I noticed the logo also and found it interesting – the good news is that these kids seemed so much more mature and serious than our teen icons they are most assuredly going in a better direction.

      June 3, 2014 at 1:08 pm

      • Mike

        I am still with the firm – though moved to Maryland with my family. I work remotely from our home. Its more affordable with more room for the boy to run and play (he has 4.5 acres and a pool) . Would have to eat nothing but noodles to afford that in S.D. Good to hear from you and enjoy!

        June 9, 2014 at 6:06 am

      • Mike – sounds like you are doing well. Glad to hear it – seems like the local office here is hitting some harder times…..

        June 9, 2014 at 8:03 am

  6. I can see this story 🙂

    June 3, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    • Sebastion – glad I could share that with you! I think that one girl actually captures the story of the millions of her fellow students in that amazing country.

      June 3, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Leave a Reply

