Sharing moments in time…

Zion National Park – the Narrows hike and a rare photo….(of me)


One of the most interesting hikes within the Zion National Park is “the Narrows”.  While it can be a hike down into the Virgin River gorge from above, most people (including our group) hike it from the Zion canyon.  After a  20 minute tram ride into the park, you hike about a mile to get to the beginning of the Narrows.  From there, the hike is pretty much all walking and wading in the river as you hike upstream into the slot canyon.  The sandstone walls of the canyon can tower above up to 2,000 ft. so the scenery is pretty imposing.  The water in the river can be cold (it was about 50 degrees when we were there) and the footing can be a little uncertain with the current and the uneven rocks under your feet.  We opted to get rental shoes and booties for the hike and we were glad that we did – everyone stayed warm and we saved our own boots for later hikes.  I should mention that we got up pretty early to avoid the crowds and as we walked out, we were glad we did – there were ALOT of hikers coming in as we exited.  This is an amazing hike and well worth the preparation and effort to get there – I would recommend it highly to anyone who goes to Zion."Orange you jealous"?

“Orange you jealous”?

This photo shows our friends Ellen and Sarah in one of the pools near the entry to the narrows.  Its hard to show how incredible the light is in these areas.  There is very little direct light coming in as the canyon is so tight.   All of the light is reflected off of the sandstone cliffs and adds sort of a “glow” to everything it touches – it is just beautiful.

Amazing Place!

Amazing Place!

This second photo is of Sarah and my wife Dee in one of the great photo opportunities of the hike – the slot canyon gets very narrow about a mile and a half in and provides these kind of views.  I was up my waist in water as I was taking this photo but it was great fun!

Shoot the Photographer!

Shoot the Photographer!

The last photo is indeed rare – I am usually behind the camera not in front of it.  This was taken as I walked out of the river back at the entry point to the narrows (photographers are always at the back of the pack).  I didn’t even know that it was being taken but Sarah was pretty quick on the shutter.  As shots of me go, I thought this one was pretty good so I thought I’d include it here.  Thanks Sarah.

 

11 responses

  1. such an awesome place to hike huh,,jest don’t hike up that canyon on a thunderstrorm day though,,,:) is why the natives called it devils canyon 🙂 .take care Q way awesome 🙂

    June 30, 2014 at 9:38 am

    • Thanks Q! It is an amazing place….and no storms in sight so we had a great time!

      July 5, 2014 at 11:06 am

  2. wow… so grand.. 🙂

    June 30, 2014 at 11:20 am

    • It is indeed a grand place and beautiful hike.

      July 5, 2014 at 11:05 am

  3. Great shots Scott. I really wanted to do this hike, but we were there in late December. It is a good time of year to avoid the crowds and do most of the other hikes, but a little to cold for this one. We checked into renting wet suits, but decided to do Angles Landing instead.

    June 30, 2014 at 5:14 pm

    • hi Daniel – Angels Landing is another great hike in Zion but I must say this is my favorite. I think you made the right choice – I think the December waters would have been really uncomfortable without a dry suit.

      July 5, 2014 at 11:04 am

  4. Linda Sterger

    Hi Scott! I did this hike about 30 years ago and thought that it was one of the most beautiful hikes I have taken! The rangers had to tell us not to go in case of flooding, but whispered that they would go if they had a chance! So we did!!!

    Linda

    June 30, 2014 at 6:37 pm

    • Hi Linda! I had done it a long time ago also but wasn’t taking photos back then. I was glad to have the opportunity to go again! There was no chance of a flood while we were there so we lucked out.

      July 5, 2014 at 11:02 am

  5. Stunning shots !
    Bellissime !
    Ciao Scott
    Max

    June 30, 2014 at 11:24 pm

    • Thanks Max – it was a great hike and fun to do carrying all my “stuff”.

      July 5, 2014 at 11:00 am

  6. Pingback: My Trek Through the Narrows USA | Esential Scenic Mountian Trekks

Leave a Reply

