Sharing moments in time…

Seeing Triple


So I got up this morning, had some caffeine, and for some reason thought about trying to capture the hummingbirds in my backyard in a different way.  I have never really used the multiple exposure feature of my cameras but I thought it would be fun – but maybe impossible – to capture a multiple exposure of a hummingbird feeding on our flowered bushes.  So I grabbed my tripod and camera and made the long 30 foot trek to the edge of the canyon we live on. I was a little late for “peak” morning hummingbird time but I did get a couple of opportunities to try the shot.  While this one is a little busy and the flowers aren’t in great focus  (the wind was blowing), the hummingbird did manage to be clear in three different positions in one sequence.

Crowded in them thar bushes.....

Crowded in them thar bushes…..

I also had an opportunity to get a large (single) bee of some sort moving between the blooms…..

Just passing through....

Just passing through….

Maybe not the greatest photos in the world in terms of art but they were fun to experiment with.  A bored photographer is a dangerous thing….

 

4 responses

  1. Interesting effect. I like the result for such a busy animal as a hummingbird or bee. What camera are you shooting that allows you to take 3 different exposures? Does it take 3images and blend them? Or does it expose the sensor 3 times?

    July 5, 2014 at 8:45 pm

    • Ian – I used a Nikon 7100 on this image. It actually takes 3 separate exposures at one third “gain” and combines them. You actually hit the shutter 3 times.

      July 6, 2014 at 9:32 am

  2. “A bored photographer is a dangerous thing” LOL! I really like the abstract look of the hummingbirds. 😀

    July 6, 2014 at 1:40 am

    • Thanks Amanda! It was just a whim but I had fun doing it. I may try it with some other subjects in the future….

      July 6, 2014 at 9:33 am

Leave a Reply

