Sharing moments in time…

San Diego Gay Pride Parade


My wife and I live in a very eclectic neighborhood with many gay neighbors and many terrific restaurants.  Once a year, our little community of Hillcrest plays host to the San Diego Gay Pride Parade – one of the largest in the country.  On that weekend, we get visited by a couple of hundred thousand of our closest friends and it becomes impossible to park or move around easily in our “hood”.  On Saturday, the parade is held just a couple of blocks from our home.  As a photographer, I always wander up there and try to catch some of the sights and scenes.  While it is tempting to focus on some of the more raucous costumes or actions during the parade/parties, I always end up just taking photos of  people (and animals) in the crowd or in the parade.  Here’s a couple of my photos from this weekend.

Wrapped in the Rainbow Flag

Wrapped in the Rainbow Flag

This first photo is probably my favorite of the weekend.  This lady was on one of the decorated floats in the parade – covered with Gay Pride flags and banners.  She was holding a little friend and getting covered by the flags waving in the wind.  I think the look on both their faces tell you that they were enjoying themselves.

Git along little doggie

Git along little doggie

Every year the parade is led by the gay and lesbian motorcycle groups.  Many were adorned with flags and flamingos, but this one was just a family of three out for a saturday ride.

Above the Crowd

Above the Crowd

I was looking for a way to highlight a new mural which had been painted on one of our local buildings and I caught this sight of a flag bearing youngster on his father’s shoulders joining the mural above the frenetic crowd below….

Puppy Love

Puppy Love

I took this last photo as I was moving among the crowd during the parade.  I saw this enthusiastic young girl hugging a pit bull  and enjoying every moment.  Not sure the dog was enjoying it as much.  After I took this photo a women standing nearby told me that I should send the photo to the local pit bull rescue organization.  I just might…….

It appears that fun was had by all and as I write this, our streets and local establishments are returning to normal traffic.  Now on to Comic-Con this coming week!!

 

 

4 responses

  1. Great post!

    July 21, 2014 at 8:11 am

    • Thanks Cathy – you coulda been there…..

      July 22, 2014 at 9:43 am

  2. Wonderful! I’m never on Facebook anymore, but on it there’s a great group called “Stand up for Pits Foundation,” and they do lots of legal work. Your image is lovely, and I’m sure any group such as them would love it! 🙂

    July 22, 2014 at 7:05 am

    • Feygirl – Sent the photo out this morning to the local pit bull rescue organization 🙂

      July 22, 2014 at 9:45 am

Leave a Reply

