Sharing moments in time…

Foster Dogs!


My across the road neighbors, Steve and Nancy, have four dogs of their own but they routinely “adopt” other dogs from the shelter until good homes can be found for them.  They are clearly doing wonderful work.  A short time ago, they asked me if I could help them get their foster “children” adopted through my hobby of photography.  They said many of the adoptions are done through the use of websites but that the quality of the photos of the subjects left something to be desired.   I readily agreed because I love dogs (as my own two can tell you) and really enjoy photographing all animals – it seemed like a great match!  So we started setting up short photo shoots for the dogs and so far it has contributed to several adoptions.

I’m going to switch gears and start with Steve and Nancy’s current foster, Ginger – a wonderfully sweet dog who loves to be up close and personal with people and is a joy to be with.  Her only issue is that a few weeks back (before she became a foster) she was hit by a car and lost her front right leg.  Only a few weeks later, she is her normal happy self and she is getting around like she never needed four legs!  Here is my photo/painting portrait of Ginger that I took yesterday.

Ginger the Cutie

Ginger the Cutie

As I said to Steve this morning, this next photo catches her “putting her best foot forward”…..

Ginger is proving that feet are redundant....

Ginger is proving that feet are redundant….

I started with Ginger because she is still available for adoption, and if you are interested, please contact me at scottrandall@cox.net.  PS – we are in San Diego.

I’ll go back a little and introduce you to Holly – another available sweetie with a story.  Holly is being fostered by some other friends and her story is that she was very nearly euthanized as she was blind!  Luckily the attendant at the shelter could not bring himself to carry out her sentence and Holly was saved.  She has since had cataract surgery and can see again.  She is a beautiful and happy dog …..and she is also still available.  Send me a note if you might be interested in adopting her!

Holly - a great story...and friend

Holly – a great story…and friend

I’ll end by introducing you to a couple of other recent friends who have since gone on to new families.  This is Cassie who just got adopted a few weeks ago – how do you beat that for photogenic?

Cassie the newly adopted  :-)

Cassie the newly adopted 🙂

And lastly, let me introduce you to Farrah.  As a youngster, I was always dreaming of a date with Farrah and my friend Steve arranged it for me!  It was different than I had dreamed of but Farrah is still quite the poster girl …..

Farrah - still one of Charlie's  Angels to me

Farrah – still one of Charlie’s Angels to me

 

27 responses

  1. What a wonderful endeavor!!!

    August 5, 2014 at 10:15 am

    • Thanks Nora – Its been great fun meeting all the dogs and a kick to photograph them. My own dogs are jealous

      August 5, 2014 at 4:07 pm

  2. You have taken adorable photos of these dogs. I hope they get adopted soon.

    August 5, 2014 at 10:28 am

    • Thanks Colline – were all hoping to get them good homes soon.

      August 5, 2014 at 4:07 pm

  3. These are gorgeous photos, and I think its great that you’re contributing to the care of these lovely dogs. I can’t help but feel sad for the first one losing her leg! I hope they all go to loving homes very soon…

    August 5, 2014 at 10:48 am

    • Amanda – it is AMAZINNG to see how quickly she adapted and healed and now you wouldn’t even know its a recent thing.

      August 5, 2014 at 4:09 pm

  4. Ree Cashat

    Wonderful photo’s of these precious canine cuties! Good technique + a kind heart = kudos to you.

    August 5, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    • Thanks Marie – you know I’ve always been a sucker for a Dog

      August 5, 2014 at 4:10 pm

  5. I volunteer for an animal rescue group and I know how important good photos are to getting people to inquire about a dog or cat. It really makes a big difference. (I’ve tried getting decent photos of the shelter dogs. It’s no easy task!) It’s so wonderful that you’re using your terrific skills to help these pups find a forever home. 🙂

    I hope Ginger and Holly get adopted soon.

    August 5, 2014 at 5:27 pm

    • Thanks Jackie – its been a pleasure!

      August 6, 2014 at 4:24 pm

    • autisticaplanet

      Yes, I agree. You are using the gift God gave you to help others. What a blessing. My favorite is the one of Ginger.

      August 11, 2014 at 12:17 am

      • Allison – Ginger is a sweetie. My neighbor was just taking her over for an evaluation of whether she can be a therapy dog.

        August 11, 2014 at 7:49 pm

  6. Steve Deutsch

    this is a wonderful post. keep up the excellent work. you are really putting your best foot forward. thanks, steve

    August 6, 2014 at 7:46 am

    • Pete

      Steve and Nancy are real angels. Others talk. They do. They will have a sure spot in heaven..Not to soon.

      August 6, 2014 at 10:05 am

      • Pete – you got that right!

        August 6, 2014 at 4:27 pm

    • Steve – I haven’t photographed my foot once…..yet…..

      August 6, 2014 at 4:25 pm

  7. What a great way to use your considerable talent! These are lucky dogs!

    August 6, 2014 at 2:32 pm

    • They don’t pay too well but I get lots of licks!

      August 6, 2014 at 4:28 pm

  8. They are gorgeous dogs and photos and your friends are so wonderful. I hope the puppies find fur-ever homes soon.

    August 7, 2014 at 3:57 am

    • LHN – Thanks for your thoughts – Steve and Nancy are very special and I’m sure they will find homes for them soon.

      August 9, 2014 at 4:34 pm

  9. Gorgeous photos and a great cause! I especially like the first one of Ginger, she looks so dreamy!

    August 8, 2014 at 11:20 am

    • Alex – enjoyed visiting your blog – you and I may have the only Caracal photos on WordPress….?

      August 9, 2014 at 4:38 pm

      • Thank you Scott! Where are your caracal photos? I’d love to see them. Your lion photos are stunning! Do you have any of Servals too?

        August 10, 2014 at 1:04 am

      • Alex – one of my caracal photos from the Serengeti is here: https://scottseyephotos.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/east-africa-safari-episode-7-tanzania/ We caught a glimpse of a Serval in the bushes but it was very early in the morning and he/she was gone before I could get a photo.

        August 11, 2014 at 7:56 pm

      • Wow, that’s a beautiful photo! Great that you got to spend time observing the cat too, I’d love to see big cat species in the wild!

        August 12, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Leave a Reply

