Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Descent


This challenge was easy as I was already working on an image that fits the subject.  I just purchased and received a 24″ monitor and a graphic tablet to use for editing photos – I think I was starting to go blind doing all my editing on my small, portable Macbook Air.  I had chosen a photo of a leopard from Tanzania for my first edits using the new equipment.  Luckily, it happened to be a Leopard descending from a tree so it will also works for this challenge.  I hope you enjoy!

Danger Descending

Danger Descending

 

21 responses

  1. wow. just. wow.

    October 31, 2014 at 5:38 pm

  2. Steve Deutsch

    apt description. scared me.

    October 31, 2014 at 5:39 pm

  3. Perfect for this challenge. Beautiful kitty leaps from the photo. Monitor and tablet work great!

    October 31, 2014 at 5:44 pm

  4. Love the photo…great idea

    October 31, 2014 at 6:42 pm

    • WM – it was a great fit as I was already working on this one!

      November 7, 2014 at 11:32 am

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Descent | WoollyMuses

  6. Wow! I’d love to hear the story behind this shot…Judy

    October 31, 2014 at 10:46 pm

    • Hi Judy! We spent an entire afternoon with this incredible leopard. He followed him as he went tree to tree, then down into the rocks, then finally took a vantage point for the evening hunt (we had to leave as Serengeti Park has rules that you have to be “in camp” by sunset). We had been watching him for quite a while when he came down this tree (which was surrounded by Jackels barking at him) and he walked right past our vehicle. I really liked this particular shot because of the afternoon shadows and the “slinkiness” of his climb down. I hope the photo conveys that mood and the wonder of this beautiful but dangerous creature.

      November 7, 2014 at 11:37 am

  7. blueberriejournal

    Cool!

    November 1, 2014 at 3:39 am

  8. Another great shot and brilliant for the challenge !
    Ciao Scott

    November 1, 2014 at 8:28 am

    • Max,
      Thanks my friend! I just had this one printed and it now hangs proudly in our dining room.

      November 7, 2014 at 11:39 am

  9. Pingback: Photo Challenge: Descent | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  10. Wow – fantastic. Congrats on your new editing toys

    November 2, 2014 at 11:56 am

    • Thanks Nora – and thanks for finding me and commenting on Flickr. Haven’t been faithfully posting everything there….yet. I’ll be posting a lot more there soon. Glad you like my “work”.

      November 5, 2014 at 11:32 am

    • Thanks Nora – I’m really having fun with the new toys but I’m causing myself a lot of work to go back and re-edit some of my older photos!

      November 7, 2014 at 11:41 am

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Descent Into Dante’s Underworld | Pilot Fish

  12. Great interpretation of the subject and a good image of a not-so-easy-to-photo cat. Even with a long tele you must have been close enough to more or less have the leopard descend on top of your good self

    November 3, 2014 at 8:29 am

    • Thanks Freddy – I appreciate your comments and enjoyed looking through your photos! We spent a lot of time with this cat and he got pretty comfortable with us after a while. I have many more nice shots of him I still haven’t processed yet!

      November 7, 2014 at 11:49 am

  13. Nancy Deutsch

    I feel like I am there

    November 4, 2014 at 7:36 pm

    • Thanks Nancy! – I’m thrilled that you can get that out of this shot!! The printed version now lives in our house to remind us of that feeling!

      November 7, 2014 at 11:52 am

Leave a Reply

