Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Minimalist


I don’t take too many minimalist photos but I found one that almost fits the bill.  I liked this one enough to have it printed and displayed in our outdoor living room as the colors kind of mirror the colors of the “room”.  This was taken with a telephoto lens during our recent trip to Europe.  These two ladies were peering out a window high above the main square in Heidelberg, Germany.  They both had kind of thoughtful expressions on their faces (or maybe they were just bored).  I think the minimalist nature of the photo draws you to those expressions and makes you wonder what was really going on inside those minds……

_DSC5898

A penny for your thoughts….

21 responses

  1. Awesome photograph!

    November 7, 2014 at 10:48 am

    • Thanks Anna! I’m glad you like it! I actually didn’t think much of it when I took it, but the more I cropped it down to its present state, the more I liked it.

      November 7, 2014 at 11:56 am

      • I really like it. Their expressions, that window… The thoughts that they are sharing in silence and could be anything and everything. 🙂 wonderful.

        November 7, 2014 at 12:01 pm

      • Thanks Anna – your comments reflect what I liked about it also. I never know if its just me that likes something or whether it will appeal to others.

        November 17, 2014 at 11:58 am

  2. Nice!

    November 7, 2014 at 10:53 am

    • Carol – Thank you so much!

      November 7, 2014 at 11:56 am

      • Scott! My name is mark and I want to purchase one of your images for a client. Can you contact me to discuss?

        February 9, 2015 at 10:42 am

  3. That works, Scott, and really focuses the viewer on the facial expressions.

    janet

    November 7, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    • Thanks Janet! Glad you liked it. It was a totally accidental spot….

      November 17, 2014 at 12:00 pm

  4. Steve Deutsch

    bratwurst.

    November 7, 2014 at 2:31 pm

  5. I like the dark background that you can’t see anything inside and that draws us to the faces of the ladies. Good telephoto shot.

    November 7, 2014 at 8:16 pm

    • Thanks Seeker – I’m always looking for shots like this but they are rare to find.

      November 17, 2014 at 12:01 pm

  6. Leave out “almost”

    November 8, 2014 at 11:43 am

  7. Very interesting capture – you’re right, they draw you in to their thoughts.

    November 9, 2014 at 8:23 am

    • Thanks Tina – I’m glad you see that also – didn’t know if was just me….. 🙂

      November 17, 2014 at 12:04 pm

  8. Pingback: Photo Challenge: Little Bear Fire | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Minimalist | Endless Skys

  10. Terrific capture Scott and I love the post processing. Great work 🙂

    November 10, 2014 at 11:07 am

    • Thanks Pennie – I visited your site and enjoyed the different techniques you use also!

      November 17, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Leave a Reply

