Sharing moments in time…

Quote

Weekly Photo Challenge: Blur


Here’s my response to this week’s challenge “Blur.”  Photographers frequently use a narrow depth of field to isolate the subject from the surroundings.  Its a great technique unless you happen to get the focus point just slightly wrong and catch perfect focus on another portion of the photo while the subject is just a shadow.  This is one of my favorite examples of that happening.  I was trying to take a photo of a tufted puffin in Alaska who was taking off directly away from the boat we were in.  The puffin was my intended focal point but I missed and got some of the “spray” from his hopping take-off instead.  I still like the photo as it catches the action as well as a crystal clear image of where the puffin used to be…..

so close......

so close……

10 responses

  1. Nice, I like this shot a lot.

    April 3, 2015 at 11:21 am

    • Thanks Amy – I enjoyed your tulip photos and also visited your website – well done!

      April 4, 2015 at 8:55 am

  2. Pingback: Photo Challenge; Blur | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  3. Even though you “missed”, this is an effective shot.

    April 3, 2015 at 11:05 pm

  4. Pingback: Blurish | My Atheist Blog

  5. Pingback: Upward Mobility | litadoolan

  6. yes i agree, a very lively shot.

    April 7, 2015 at 7:59 am

Leave a Reply

