Sharing moments in time…

Quote

Weekly Photo Challenge: Ornate


Intro to an Icon.....

Intro to an Icon…..

When I think of  “Ornate” I always reflect on the cathedrals and monuments that I’ve had the opportunity to see around the world.  One of the most incredible is, of course, the Taj Mahal in Agra, India.  I could easily have picked many of the pictures I have of that monument but I thought I’d take a slightly different view that many people don’t even know exists.  The “Taj” is surrounded by an equally incredible compound that is amazing by itself.  The entry points and corners are marked by large, very ornate structures that would be attractions all by themselves if they weren’t just an “appetizer” for the Taj.  I chose to show one of those main entryways here.  It is impossible to describe the detail of these building but I hope this at least gives you a taste.  For context, the white domes that can be seen on the left side of the photo are the actual Taj Mahal…..

8 responses

  1. luckykaye

    It is so beautiful isn’t it. Although we’d seen it in photos and on TV I never quite realised how breathtaking it is until we visited. Thanks for the reminder of happy memories!

    November 6, 2015 at 9:49 am

  2. I like your choice and would love to see it in person one day (the whole complex.)

    janet

    November 6, 2015 at 10:42 am

    • Janet – its HUGE! Even though there are thousands of people there, they are dwarfed by the surroundings. It is definitely worth the trip. India is an amazingly interesting place.

      November 7, 2015 at 5:02 pm

  3. Melissa B Stevens

    Scott, as a dancer and teacher of ballet for many years, I have always enjoyed watching the corps de ballet, sometimes more than the soloists. I like to see what surrounds the main feature, just as this photo of yours shows the beauty of the surrounding buildings around the Taj. Lovely!

    Melissa (Katharine’s friend in Atlanta)

    November 6, 2015 at 1:19 pm

    • Melissa – Thank you so much. I love your interpretation and it is why I chose this one – a little out of the ordinary views but spectacular in its own right.

      November 7, 2015 at 5:04 pm

  4. Lovely building……pretty sure I was there or in the vicinity many moons ago.

    November 8, 2015 at 6:11 am

    • Thanks Leola! Glad you got the opportunity to visit it also.

      November 13, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Leave a Reply

