Sharing moments in time…

Quote

Weekly Photo Challenge: Victory


I’ll post a rather small “Victory” for this week’s challenge.  We were in Kauai, Hawaii a couple of weeks ago in a house right on the beach with beautiful breaking waves.  I have always been enamored by the ocean and can sit for hours just watching the ever changing views of the surf.  What I have never done is try to capture a decent picture of the surf as kind of a stop action landscape.  I took many photos that week trying to get something that expressed the beauty and the power of the crashing water.  I kind of like this this one as I can almost hear the sound and smell the salt spray – I hope you enjoy it also.

Surfs up!!

Surfs up!!

15 responses

  1. Nice one! I always love listening to the roar of the water as it crashes on the beach.

    November 13, 2015 at 3:04 pm

    • Colline – every time a get the chance to be at the ocean it always beckons me back again.

      November 16, 2015 at 11:35 am

  2. It’s very difficult to catch waves at just the right moment, but you succeeded beautifully here.

    janet

    November 13, 2015 at 3:14 pm

    • Thanks Janet – we had a great vantage point and lots of opportunity to catch a good shot!

      November 16, 2015 at 11:34 am

  3. raymond kelso

    Excellent

    November 13, 2015 at 3:56 pm

    • Thanks Ray? Any dive trips coming up?

      November 16, 2015 at 11:33 am

  4. SUSANNE SHAW

    Hi Scott, Saw your photo of the beautiful “Kauai” waves and remembered this photo I took when I lived in Redondo Beach. I, too, was mesmerized by the beauty of the waves, the ocean, & sea life and spent may hours on the beach. You may know my 2005 subject below, Edward G. (Ted) Clements, playing in the surf with his granddaughter Jezne. Ted worked as Chief Engineer at the Phillips Lab and retired around around 1997. He passed away in 2010. Jezne, now 19, lives in Albuquerque. His wife Leolani is my good friend who now lives in Laughlin, NV. I could never get enough of the ocean & miss it tremendously now that we live in UT.

    November 13, 2015 at 4:22 pm

    • Susanne – Its great that I could remind you of those precious moments! Its also great just to connect with you again. Where are you in Utah?

      November 16, 2015 at 11:33 am

  5. Linda Hoffmann

    Great shot Scott! I grew up in Ocean Beach and loved the salty air and the sounds crash of waves!

    Linda

    >

    November 13, 2015 at 6:46 pm

    • Thanks Linda – you can’t still hear them on your mountain-top? 🙂

      November 16, 2015 at 11:31 am

  6. That’s a beautiful capture. Congratulations on your Victory!

    November 14, 2015 at 1:59 am

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Victory | Musings of a Random Mind

  8. Great image,now get your camera in a box and get out there in those waves and get us some images ;o)

    January 1, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Leave a Reply

