Sharing moments in time…

Welcome to Japan


We just returned from 3 weeks in Japan – a mixture of wildlife experiences and a short tour of some of the significant sights.  One of our first visits was to the Hakone area – not far from Tokyo and a good place to get a glimpse of Mt Fuji.   That is pretty much all we got of “Fuji-san” as it was mostly covered in clouds during our visit.  We did get to wander around a shrine containing this Torii gate which you frequently see around Japan.  The gates normally signify the entrance to a shrine and are often painted in bright colors.  This one was a bright orange in color but I decided to process it as a B&W to give it more of a calm, and meditative tone.  I waited for a single visitor to be framed by the gate.  I think of this scene as our welcome to this amazing country.DSCF8227-1

12 responses

  1. It seems like you really enjoyed your trip.

    March 9, 2016 at 3:25 pm

    • Mark – definitely did. You’ll see more from it here…..

      March 10, 2016 at 5:07 pm

  2. Jane Blumer

    I loved Hakone. Did you go to the outdoor sculpture museum there? It was a favorite experience too.

    March 9, 2016 at 3:30 pm

    • Jane – We did go and enjoy the sculpture museum – I’ll probably post a pic or two from there in the future. We also stopped at a small coffee shop just outside the museum area that had decor based on the characters from “Toy Story” ….the people there were very friendly and it finished off the afternoon on a high note!

      March 10, 2016 at 5:09 pm

  3. Oh the B&W makes it perfect! Hakone has this Tozan Railway with breathtaking sights, wondering if you went on it too.

    March 9, 2016 at 9:52 pm

    • RR – We did take the railway and it was great! We also did the tram and the gondola (and boat) but had to take a bus around an area of volcanic activity……

      March 10, 2016 at 5:11 pm

      • Sweet trip! If you’re posting any more photos from this, I’m definitely looking out for it 🙂

        March 10, 2016 at 7:02 pm

      • RR, Coming soon…..

        March 14, 2016 at 11:02 am

  4. A lovely shot, I think you chose well in processing in black & White, make’s the image even more atmospheric and gives a greater sense of a serene and holy place.

    March 10, 2016 at 9:58 am

    • 6million P man,
      Thanks for the comment. I enjoyed looking through your street photography also. Looks like you’re enjoying the OM-D. I considered that camera but a friend of mine introduced me to the Fuji XT-1 and I’ve made that my “go to” camera lately.

      March 10, 2016 at 5:18 pm

      • I was in two mind’s when going mirrorless about Olympus of Fuji, the Olympus edged it for me but purely on cost point. Although the X mount lenses are spectacular quality I just couldn’t meet the price point.

        March 11, 2016 at 10:04 am

      • I don’t think you can go wrong with either camera – both really nice quality and size. I’m working to downsize all my old DSLR kit.

        March 14, 2016 at 11:01 am

Leave a Reply

