Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Landscape(s)


I saw the subject of this week’s challenge and thought that I would post what is considered an “iconic” landscape shot.  This photo is taken through the Mesa Arch in Canyonlands, Utah at dawn.  I arrived at the scene well before sunrise and there was already a crowd of photographers there.  They were also not the most courteous of photographers who would let you in to be able to “get the shot”.  In the end, there was one kind fellow who allowed me to duck in under his tripod so I could share the view.  Not the best angle or framing but I took what I could get.

Worth the Crowd?

Worth the Crowd?

In fact, I took a couple of quick shots there to get the scene that everyone takes and then bailed out to take less crowded shots from around the arch rather than through it.  When I look back at these photos I much prefer the ones that I took from “around the corner” because they remind me of a relaxed, quiet experience rather than stressing to find a place among some fairly self-absorbed people.

More relaxed view

More relaxed view

These days if I run into that kind of photographer “gaggle” I often just wander off nearby and take a different angle away from the crowd.  It saves the aggravation and lets me enjoy the experience rather than fighting for that “perfect” shot.

19 responses

  1. Stunning images.

    April 2, 2016 at 10:54 am

    • Thanks Allen – I enjoyed looking through your site.

      April 2, 2016 at 11:08 am

  2. jmacindoe

    Wow – truly amazing shots!

    April 2, 2016 at 11:22 am

  3. AYR

    Super beautiful photos

    April 2, 2016 at 12:47 pm

  4. Fantastic pics !!!
    Bellissime !!!
    Ciao ciao

    April 2, 2016 at 3:15 pm

  5. Linda Hoffmann

    Beautiful Scott! Sounds like you have the best strategy of all! Linda

    April 2, 2016 at 7:07 pm

    • Linda – I hope so. My patience with uncourteous crowds is waning in my later years…..

      April 5, 2016 at 12:53 pm

  6. Fantastic!

    April 2, 2016 at 7:56 pm

  7. Pingback: Landscape (Powerlines) | What's (in) the picture?

  8. Steve Deutsch

    beautiful photos.

    April 3, 2016 at 5:37 pm

    • Thanks Steve – easy when you get a morning like that!!

      April 5, 2016 at 12:55 pm

  9. Stunning shots and great advice. 🙂

    April 6, 2016 at 7:09 pm

    • Thanks Patti – I’ve never thought of photography as a stepping experience – had to adapt my approach – but only in very well known areas….

      April 16, 2016 at 11:21 am

  10. Wonderful photos, both of them. I love the muted colours contrasting the colours of the sunrise… I can feel myself there, breathing in the peace and beauty… (now if only there were not a crowd) I will have to remember your strategy when I visit the canyons of Utah next year.

    April 10, 2016 at 8:40 am

    • Thanks Maggie – have a great visit – its a wonderful area!

      May 10, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Leave a Reply

