Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Quest


When thinking about photo opportunities I often think about what the most challenging aspect of a shot may be.  That was especially on my mind yesterday as I was trying out a new camera (the Fuji XT-2) in the challenging environment of the USMC airshow at Miramar in San Diego.  The contributing factors were that this camera has a brand new (improved?) autofocusing system, I hadn’t had the chance to practice with it much,  and I would be trying to capture very quickly moving aircraft.  I especially thought about one of the most difficult shots that I knew I would encounter (based on being at this airshow before).  The Navy’s aviation demonstration team, the Blue Angels, would be performing and one of their featured demonstrations is for their two solo aircraft to approach each other from  opposite ends of the runway and pass VERY close together at midfield – with a closing speed of over 800 mph!.  As you might guess, that situation stresses the camera, the autofocus system and the photographer – that was my quest.  Long story short, I waited for the moment of that maneuver and prepared for the shot.  As the aircraft approached the centre of the show, each flying at over 400mph, I tracked one aircraft and tried to guess the moment they would pass.  I fired off a quick sequence of shots but I didn’t know whether I had caught both aircraft as I had to quickly prepare for the next pass of “the Blues”.  I didn’t actually look at my photos until I got home and did a quick review of my photos.  I was greatly relieved to find this shot (the one that I had imagined in my mind) in the collection.  My small quest had been a success……!

A quick quest captured

A quick quest captured

 

13 responses

  1. Wonderful shot!

    September 24, 2016 at 12:47 pm

    • Hi Cathy – You guys will enjoy the show tomorrow!

      September 24, 2016 at 12:52 pm

      • Will we find you there?

        September 24, 2016 at 1:02 pm

  2. Raymond Kelso

    EXCELLENT >

    September 24, 2016 at 2:16 pm

    • Thanks Ray! How things out in the desert? I’m actually going to be in Ridgecrest in mid-October. A Scottish photographer friend of mine is coming in and we’ll do some aviation photography in Rainbow Canyon and then roam the Sierras all the way up to Yosemite.

      September 25, 2016 at 5:05 pm

  3. Sue Johnson

    WOW! great shot.

    September 24, 2016 at 5:31 pm

  4. Ken Slaght

    done

    September 24, 2016 at 5:51 pm

  5. Pingback: Quest: Shopping Trolley | What's (in) the picture?

  6. A risky quest captured in perfect timing

    September 25, 2016 at 10:09 am

    • Abbie – a little luck involved also…..

      September 25, 2016 at 5:02 pm

  7. Excellent catch. How are you liking the camera and what did you have before it?

    September 25, 2016 at 2:19 pm

  8. Hi Tina – I’m really liking the new camera. I started switching to Fuji (the XT-1) about a year and a half ago for general photography like landscapes and travel/street photography. The problem was that there was no Fuji long lenses for wildlife or sporting events and the autofocus system on the XT-1 was not adequate for those applications. Fuji recently came out with a nice 100-400 lens to solve that problem and now the XT-2 has solved most, if not all, of the autofocus issues. The end result is that my camera bag has gone from over 40 lbs to less than 25 with equal lens coverage. I also much prefer the ability of mirrorless cameras to show the real exposure in the electronic viewfinders vs the optical finders on DSLRs which you guess (based on experience) what the final exposure will look like. I forgot to say that all my previous cameras/lenses were high-end Nikons.

    September 25, 2016 at 5:01 pm

  9. Steve Deutsch

    camera working.

    September 26, 2016 at 9:14 am

Leave a Reply

