Sharing moments in time…

American Kestrel


I went for a walk yesterday with our two dogs and ended coming back home walking through the part of Balboa Park that borders our back yard. There is a canyon there that the dogs can run in and you sometimes get surprised by the wildlife there. As we walked on the path, I noticed a beautiful Kestrel sitting in the top of a nearby tree. He was very close and relaxed which is unusual for a kestrel – and me without a camera. I walked up the hill to my house, unleashed the dogs and grabbed my camera and long lens. As I went back down the trail, I could see the kestrel fly away into the large trees surrounding the canyon. I decided to make one quick spin around the area and finally saw the bird again on a telephone pole at the top of the canyon. I climbed my way through the steep underbrush to get close enough for picture and finally got within range. After snapping a few shots, I stumbled and of course the kestrel flew away. I love these great looking little falcons so I was disappointed to not get a shot of it flying. Anyway – thought I’d share the result of my dog walking discovery….

Seeing this little guy made my part of America great again - No thanks to "the Donald"

Seeing this little guy made my part of America great again – No thanks to “the Donald”

8 responses

  1. Beautiful, thanks for sharing.

    January 25, 2017 at 1:07 pm

  2. I never realized how beautiful this bird really is.

    January 26, 2017 at 6:18 am

    • Colline – they are definitely one of my favorites

      February 9, 2017 at 6:31 pm

  3. Linda Hoffmann

    Love it! …no thanks to the Donald!

    January 26, 2017 at 12:04 pm

    • Thanks Linda – how is the new house?

      February 9, 2017 at 6:31 pm

  4. Beautiful bird. And you went to such lengths! Too bad someone didn’t get a shot of you getting the shot. I can just see it in my mind’s eye. 🙂

    January 26, 2017 at 5:14 pm

Leave a Reply

