Sharing moments in time…

Archive for March 10, 2017

Weekly Photo Challenge: Wish


I hate to climb on the church related responses to this challenge but we recently had the opportunity to do some photography in and around St. Giles cathedral in Edinburgh, Scotland.  It was a rainy couple of days so I was able to get some external and internal shots of this beautiful church which dates back to the 1100’s and was rebuilt in the late 1300s after a fire destroyed much of the original structure.  I am not normally drawn to take lots of photos of cathedrals but I found this one to be very photogenic and we also used it as a refuge to stay out of the downpour.

Rainy Conversation

 

I took this first photo not long after we arrived in Edinburgh.  There were actually quite a few people on the rainy streets but this long exposure “ghosted” most of them out of the picture.  Even though the photo was taken over a period of about 50 seconds, the two ladies in the foreground kept chatting for the entire time so they were captured along with the cathedral.  I liked the context they added so I didn’t reshoot the picture or try to remove them in processing……

Almost 1000 years of wishes

The next photo is of one of the main chambers of the church.  The lighting was low but dramatic and yielded just enough color to make the stone building seem warm on this stormy day.  Any time I am in a historic place of worship such as this one, I cannot help but to try and imagine the different ways the people lived during the lifetime of the building and how their hopes and dreams differed over time while at the same time remaining fairly constant in theme.