Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Earth


Last October as I was driving home from a little time in the desert and the Sierras, I stopped along highway 395 and took this morning shot of the Sierras near Lone Pine, California.  The cars were whizzing by me as I framed the shot so I didn’t spend a lot of time to get it right.  The lava rock and a few scraggly sage bushes were the only foreground I could use but I still liked this photograph because of the mix of the rocks, the face of the mountain range, and the dramatic clouds above.  To me it is a simple photo but one that catches the essence of “Earth”.

Scenic Highway

17 responses

  1. The lighting contrasts make this an outstanding photo, and the repeating diagonals, also.

    April 19, 2017 at 12:25 pm

    • Thanks Tom – I agree – it all comes together…

      May 24, 2017 at 10:18 am

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Earth – WoollyMuses

  3. I love the photo. So crisp and clear. The dramatic sky adds to the feelings the picture evokes.

    April 19, 2017 at 2:09 pm

    • Thanks Colline – I think you’ll like some I recently took (and will post) of the Grand Canyon also….

      May 24, 2017 at 10:19 am

      • I visited there a couple of years ago. It was breathtaking.

        May 24, 2017 at 12:56 pm

  4. zoe

    Beautiful !

    April 19, 2017 at 2:16 pm

    • Thanks Zoe – glad to add a little beauty when I can….

      May 24, 2017 at 10:20 am

  5. This looks really good when I click to enlarge it.

    April 19, 2017 at 2:39 pm

  6. I like it for the reasons you expressed as well as those in the comments.

    janet

    April 19, 2017 at 5:43 pm

    • Thanks Janet – It made for a nice trip home…..

      May 24, 2017 at 10:21 am

  7. Pingback: Earth: Sky Blue | What's (in) the picture?

  8. Nitin Khanna

    Beautiful Nature and Excellently done i must say. Loved Your Work and Efforts. Really it Require lots of Patience and Efforts in order to capture shots like this. Started Following your work and wondering if ever i could learn upto this level. I started photography to inspire others and still i am working for others to raise them as good photographers. You can see my work at http://www.nitinkhanna.net/ and Let me know how is it. I would love to hear it from you and if we could work together ever it would be great.

    April 20, 2017 at 5:14 am

    • Nitin – Thanks for your very nice comments. I also enjoyed going through your site and seeing your instructionals – well done! I just got back from a 16 day trip down the Grand Canyon so there will be lots to share. Let me know if I can help or contribute to your efforts….

      May 24, 2017 at 10:23 am

  9. Good shot, Scott.

    April 20, 2017 at 12:33 pm

    • Thanks Stefano – a beautiful and unexpected scene from the highway.

      May 24, 2017 at 10:24 am

Leave a Reply

