Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Satisfaction


First, I’d like to apologize for my lack of posts lately – no particular reason other than my utter dismay at our current political state.  For my entire life, I have been proud to be a citizen of this country.  I truly believed that this was the greatest country on earth – a beacon of freedom and democracy that stood as an example to other countries.  That feeling was consistently validated during every one of my foreign travels – people routinely expressed their admiration of our liberty and our institutions as they lamented their own country’s corruption and inability to serve “the people”.  In six short months that admiration has turned to scorn and ridicule as we have swiftly lost the credibility that was dearly earned through our (mostly) principled behaviour on the international stage.  At the same time, here at home, our white house occupant continues to offer empty promises to his electorate (he never speaks of the majority of the country who didn’t vote for him) without a clue on how to achieve them. Somehow we are supposed to believe that his imagined victories over his enemy of the day and his unending placing of blame (on anyone other than himself) is a good substitute for actually serving the nation.  In his own words, it is indeed “sad”.  Sorry for the rant but I thought I’d express my dis-satisfaction before turning to more positive thoughts.

One of the most satisfying experiences in my life of late was a 16 day trip down the full length of the Grand Canyon.  Believe me, at least some of that satisfaction was due to the lack of communication with the outside world and a respite from the White House’s fright show.  But one of the other extreme joys was the opportunity to take morning hikes in the canyon.  Often these hikes led us upward to incredible vantage points and vistas where the sheer beauty was overwhelming.  Combined with the exertion of climbing and rock hopping up the trails, we were treated to that wonderful feeling of physical well-being at the same time we were experiencing the wonders of mother nature.  I chose this particular photo from one of those hikes as a great example of that satisfaction.  I actually left our hiking group at this spot just so that I could enjoy the solitude, quiet, and magnificent view here as the sun started to fill the canyon.

Cactus Canyon Satisfaction

28 responses

  1. That’s a beautiful place.

    janet

    July 26, 2017 at 1:38 pm

  2. Linda Hoffmann

    Love the photo! I spent 8 glorious days on an oar trip through the canyon and was very sad to see the end! Even then, it was nice to get away from the news of the day! I totally agree with your observations of our current sad state of affairs…feels like we are in a downward AND backward spiral! Thanks for bringing back a great memory!

    Linda

    >

    July 26, 2017 at 3:07 pm

    • Thanks Linda! How are you enjoying your new digs?

      July 26, 2017 at 6:18 pm

  3. You were in the right place at the right time to witness this light. This is a beautiful photo—well composed and exposed.
    Ω

    July 26, 2017 at 4:22 pm

    • Thanks Allan – a special moment in time.

      July 26, 2017 at 6:18 pm

  4. Beautiful.

    July 26, 2017 at 4:51 pm

  5. Enjoyed your rant as well as your photo. Both on the mark.

    July 26, 2017 at 5:20 pm

    • Lynne – I didn’t intend to write that when I sat down then it kinda spilled out……

      July 26, 2017 at 6:21 pm

  6. I am absolutely loving this reality TV comedy show.

    July 26, 2017 at 11:11 pm

  7. I am absolutely loving the best ever reality Tv comedy to have come out of this election!

    July 26, 2017 at 11:22 pm

  8. Pingback: Satisfaction: Offspring | What's (in) the picture?

  9. great shot – hang on in there-better times will surely come soon

    July 27, 2017 at 6:01 am

    • Ian – thanks. And I hope you’re right about the better times.

      August 14, 2017 at 8:29 am

  10. T. Johnson

    Scotty , so glad you are posting your photos again. Your pics are truly amazing and I so enjoy your comments about the current political situation. T.J.

    July 27, 2017 at 7:56 am

    • Thanks TJ – had to vent again this morning after last weeks display of how not to lead a country.

      August 14, 2017 at 8:28 am

  11. Pingback: WPC: Satisfaction | Lillie-Put

  12. The splendour of Mother Nature helps…and I enjoy when you spill out. Great shot.

    July 27, 2017 at 2:14 pm

    • Thanks AnnChristine. Difficult times.

      August 14, 2017 at 8:27 am

  13. Lovely capture. Such a beautiful scenery!

    July 28, 2017 at 7:24 am

  14. Sue Johnson

    Lovely photo and I agree with your statement 110%.

    July 28, 2017 at 5:10 pm

    • Thanks Sue – This last week totally disgusted me with his complete incompetence!

      August 14, 2017 at 8:25 am

  15. what a gift of nature, truly amazing capture from you. Thank you for sharing it with us

    July 28, 2017 at 8:27 pm

  16. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Satisfaction | Musings of a Random Mind

  17. I love how there is a golden ray of sun on part of the canyon. I barely watch the news anymore. Nature is healing.

    August 1, 2017 at 7:35 pm

    • Thanks Allison. I try to avoid the news also but its hard for me after being a part of the government for so long.

      August 14, 2017 at 8:31 am

Leave a Reply

