Sharing moments in time…

Quote

Weekly Photo Challenge: On the Way


Two weeks ago I had a great experience “On the Way.”   As I was leaving Yellowstone and beginning my journey back home to San Diego.  I was driving through the Grand Teton National Park in the evening before a planned stopover in Jackson, Wyoming.  I saw a couple of gravel/dirt roads that looked like they needed exploring so I took some time out from my transit to see if I could find some wildlife.  At my first stop, I found some Marmots that I posted a photo of earlier this week.  On a second dirt road, I went into the woods as far as I could before running into a large “pond” in the middle of the road.  Not having a four wheel drive, I turned around and went back the way I came in.  I wasn’t expecting to see anything as I had been on the road only 5 minutes before.  As I came around a corner, I saw this nice surprise – A grizzly sow with cubs.

Nice surprise

Nice surprise

They were also “on their way” so I didn’t have long with them but I did get a few quick shots.  Here is a view of the cubs as they were leaving – I love that the one cub kept looking back to see what I was doing.  This “on the way” interlude made both of our journeys very memorable!

Cub farewell glance

Cub farewell glance

16 responses

  1. Pingback: Some oomph along the way! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  2. Nice surprise, but I wouldn’t want to get in between the cubs and their mom!

    May 29, 2015 at 11:48 am

    • Cardinal – She was a little skittish but didn’t give any of the normal bear “signs” of being upset….

      June 7, 2015 at 9:58 am

  3. Wow! Wonderful photos. B

    May 29, 2015 at 12:21 pm

  4. wow very cool! 😎

    May 29, 2015 at 12:58 pm

  5. WOW ! I ❤ it !
    Cheers Angela

    May 29, 2015 at 1:09 pm

  6. Pingback: Photo Challenge; On the Way | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  7. Pingback: Photo Challenge; On the Way | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: ON THE WAY | The Adventures of Iñigo Boy

  9. Fantastic encounter Scott,those are the special ones when you “discover” them and not through bear jams! Well worth the detour off road.

    July 11, 2015 at 5:36 am

  10. Pingback: Some oomph along the way! | Kick-Ass Ireland!

Leave a comment