Sharing moments in time…

Archive for June 21, 2013

Weekly Photo Challenge: The World Through Your Eyes


I really enjoyed Ming Thein’s article – it was a great intro on what to look for and a good checklist of things to think about.  I especially agree with the idea that it is best to spend some time in whatever environment you are shooting to understand the subjects, their behavior, and how they interact with the environment.  As someone who spends a lot of time trying to make good captures of wildlife, this approach and the patience that goes with it (not normally one of my strong points), is critical.  Interestingly enough, I read an article yesterday from a noted street photographer who said exactly the same thing.  The other thing that I liked was Ming’s thought about eliciting an emotional attachment.  The photo that I chose for this weeks challenge (I think) demonstrates at least those two aspects of my photography.  This is a pretty simple photo of a Momma Bison and her calf but there were THOUSANDS of opportunities to take this kind of photo (and I admit I took numerous shots that didn’t do what I wanted them to) but this is the one that I was looking for.  I wanted to capture the quiet and comforting relationship between mother and calf because 1) it is probably the only way to make these imposing animals actually look “cute” and 2) it immediately invokes a happy emotional reaction in humans that we feel for most youngsters and their families – independent of species.  From a technical view it may not be a great photo – but it made me happy when I saw it and it still makes me smile when I revisit the scene.  I hope you enjoy it also…..

Mom and her "red dog"

Mom and her “red dog”