Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Texture


Welcome to my entry for this week’s challenge!  When I saw the subject, I immediately thought of the elephants.  Their rough and wrinkled texture is unlike anything else I have seen, touched or experienced in nature.  It is even more interesting when you consider how that texture ages and becomes even more distinct and featured as the elephant gets older.  I thought I’d try and illustrate that in this photo taken in the Serengeti in January.  This elephant “family” was part of a much larger herd.  I was also trying to give the photo a little texture from front to back by using the depth of field of the camera/lens…..

Texture adds character....

Texture adds character….

13 responses

  1. Pingback: Texture | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Ali

    Very cool. I love this shot 🙂

    August 8, 2014 at 4:15 pm

  3. Magnificent shot!

    August 8, 2014 at 11:59 pm

    • LHN – Thanks! They were a lovely family and it was nice of them to drop by!

      August 9, 2014 at 4:39 pm

  4. hehe so they say as i age an wrinkle up 🙂 lol….. 🙂

    August 9, 2014 at 1:31 pm

    • Q – believe me, I know the feeling….

      August 9, 2014 at 4:40 pm

  5. Pingback: WordPress Photo Challenge: Texture | The (Urban-Wildlife) Interface

  6. So noble and beautiful! Excellent photos!

    August 10, 2014 at 1:39 am

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Texture | seeking life

  8. Pingback: Mid Summer Ice | Words & Pics

  9. Marie

    Loving those textures!

    August 11, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Leave a comment