Sharing moments in time…

Archive for June 18, 2012

Another new creature – the Badger


When I left for Yellowstone, I knew that there were Badgers there but I really didn’t expect to see one or be able to photograph one.  That changed as I was driving through the Lamar Valley scanning the hillside for animals and noticed some movement in a small grass field surrounded by taller brush.  I thought that it was a marmot at first but it seemed to be lower to the ground and definitely different coloring with more black.  I was thrilled as I got my camera up and clearly saw that it was a Badger.

He looked surprised to see me also….

I was also a little surprised as I thought these guys were nocturnal (they are)  – but there he was.  By the time I got just a couple of shots, he meandered back into the long brush and was gone.  As I got back in my car I was surprised to see that I had caused a small “badger jam” as at least 5 other cars had stopped and their occupants were scrambling to get cameras out focused.

Badger beats feet to escape from the arriving photogs…..

It is always a thrill to not only see an animal that I haven’t seen in the wild before but also get a few decent shots in – lucky is good.